About the School Board

Welcome to the NC for Quality Virtual Education, Inc. Board of Director’s page. This independent board is the governing body of North Carolina Cyber Academy (NCCA), a virtual charter school, licensed by the State Board of Education.

The Board has elected to contract with Edgenuity and Phillips Management Services to provide the school with educational program and other services. This is an independent, non-profit Board of Directors and all meetings are open to the public.

headway-537308-unsplash

NCCA Board Approved Policies

The NCCA Board of Directors reviews and approves employee, school, and board policies. The policies contained within the NCCA Board Approved Policy Manual are reviewed and amended on an as needed basis.

NCCA Board Approved Policies – (Updated Jan 29 2020)

NCCA Bylaws

NCCA Bylaws

2020 – 2021 Board of Directors

Jill Hammergren, Board President
jhammergren@myncca.com

Dr. Shirley Arrington, Board Vice President
sarrington@myncca.com

Debora Williams, Secretary
dwilliams@myncca.com

Dr. Leroy Wray, Treasurer
lwray@myncca.com

Board Members:

Angela Howard
ahoward@myncca.com

Dr. Julie Marks
jmarks@myncca.com

Dr. Audrey Martin-McCoy
amartinmccoy@myncca.com

Jenene Seymour
jseymour@myncca.com

Avery Staley
astaley@myncca.com

School Board Meetings

The NCCA school board maintains a regular meeting schedule. The meetings are open to the public and in compliance with North Carolina’s open meeting laws. Meetings are generally held at the school offices.

North Carolina Cyber Academy 
2800 Meridian Parkway, Suite 150
Durham, NC 27713

The meeting dates listed below have been scheduled, or have taken place, for the 2018–19 school year. Additional meeting dates will be added as they are scheduled. This website is not the official posting location for meeting notices, which will be posted on the outside door of the location listed above. We will update these dates as new meetings are added.

Meeting Participation

Anyone is welcome to attend board meetings in person. If you wish to address the board, you will be provided an opportunity to do so either in person or by telephone. Please review our complete public comment policy for more information and instructions.

Board meeting minutes are public records that may be obtained by a written request and will include processing charges as permitted by law. Please review our public records request form for more information and instructions.

2020 – 2021 Board Meeting Dates

    • July 23rd
    • August 27th
    • September 24th
    • October 22nd
    • November 19th
    • December 17th
    • January 28th
    • February 25th
    • March 25th
    • April 22nd
    • May 27th
    • June 24th
    • July 22nd

Past Meeting Agendas and Minutes

  • May 29, 2019 NCCA Special Board Meeting Notice
    (View Notice)
  • May 31, 2019 NCCA Special Board Meeting Notice
    (View Notice)